0648 A Permanent Becoming.inddPeople are often surprised to learn how little money I make from writing Christian books, and wonder, therefore, what drives me to do it.

There are, of course, many reasons why one would want to write, but here are just two . . .

1. The Bridge, a community church in Hinckley, Leicestershire, have just finished a series of talks and discussions based around my latest book, A Permanent Becoming. What an inspiration to see how my work can be adopted and adapted by others, and what a privilege to be part of the ongoing discipleship of people who live hundreds of miles from me.

http://www.thebridgeonline.co.uk/tag/fruit

2. I had coffee with the writer and editor, Alison Hull, the other week. I asked if she had read my book, ‘Well,’ she said, ‘I did have a copy but I gave it to someone on a train after we got in a conversation about God.’ To think that someone, somewhere, who I have never met, may be coming to Christ because they are reading something I’ve written, makes all the hassle and the slog – and the poor royality cheques – worth it.