Below is my thought for the day from today’s breakfast show on radio Bristol.

If you are quick, you can listen again on line. Click on the link below, open the player and scoot along the time bar to around 1 hr 49 mins into the show: BBC BREAKFAST iPLAYER

Do you know, the last time I received a bonus I got £100 – and that despite the fact that I was doing a good job for my employer and that they were making excellent profits. Perhaps that’s why, like most people, I find it galling to read about the multi-million pound bonuses and golden handshakes that have been given to certain banking executives who have been doing less than a good job. Perhaps that’s also why yesterday’s apology by the former bosses of RBS and HBOS, came across as too little, too late, judging by the responses I’ve seen and heard. Sometimes, ‘SORRY’ can be the hardest word to say – but it can also sound all-too-easy and be greeted with derision. Like some other faiths, the Christian religion has a word that relates to the idea of an apology – REPENTANCE. But while Christian belief is that God is quick to forgive when we acknowledge the mistakes we’ve made, repentance is far more than simply saying sorry. Our real need is for a change of heart, attitude and direction. Repentance is about making a permanent change, about a determination not to continue in old habits but to adopt new and better ways. Perhaps this is what people are really looking for from our financial and political leaders – not words, but action. A whole new way of doing things that will get us out of this economic mess we are in. But even as I say this, I can’t help feel that this has to be true of me also. That I too need to say sorry for the part my choices have played in bringing about this recession, and so adopt new and better ways of living in the future.