Gormley Fourth PlinthHmmm? I see Antony Gormley has won the latest competition to have his artistic creation installed on the Fourth Plinth in Trafalgar Square. Basically, members to the public can sign up to occupy the empty plinth for an hour at a time. I think it’s a great idea. I would – because I suggested a very similar idea to a member of the Fourth Plinth Committee around three years ago during a debate on Radio Five Live. It caused rather a lot of interest at the time and it was put to the member of the committee that the idea should be considered. Naturally, it was dismissed because ‘they had a short list’ – in any case, what would a member of the public know about public art and its importance?

Of course, I’m not suggesting Antony heard the debate, thought, ‘that’s a great idea’ and nicked it. But I am rather incensed that Gormley is being heralded as a genius with an idea that in slightly different form had already been broached with the Fourth Plinth Committee.

I’ve written to the Mayor of London and some news agencies – so watch this space.

In the mean time check out this video clip: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/london/7468750.stm