As a writer, people often say to me, ‘Hey Alan, I’ve got a great idea for a book.’ I’m sorry to say that, most of the time they don’t :(

However, a couple of years ago, my friend Carrie Kingston broke that trend when she told me about a book she wanted to write. I told a commissioning editor I knew who agreed that the project would result in a great and much-needed book. And now everyone else can read it.

I may get around to reviewing Children in the Way? at some point, but don’t wait for me. If you work with children, get a hold of a copy, I’m sure you won’t be disappointed.

In the mean time, here is some blurb to whet your appetite:

How do we create a church environment that takes proper account of the way children learn? . . . Our grasp of how children learn has developed sharply in recent years. Nurseries and schools constantly review their approach, but churches sometimes employ inadequate practices . . . Carrie Kingston and Isobel MacDougall draw on their immense experience to help churches ensure that children’s encounters with church are positive and enriching.

